Goody bags designed by esteemed designer Julien McDonald lined the front row piled high with gifts and vouchers from our sponsors including Canowater, Very and Boohoo. Marks and Spencer’s beloved Percy Pigs were on hand for any peckish VIPs who need a mid-show pick me up. As seating began, celebrities, fashion press and industry professionals filed into the hall into their front row seats, ready for the exciting events to come.

Winning an award at Graduate Fashion Week is a life changing moment with designers such as Chloe Jones, 2012’s Womenswear and Gold Award winner, going on to achieve great success with a career in Design for River Island. The atmosphere was tense with excitement as the first awards were announced.

A touching tribute to the Founders of Graduate Fashion Week founders Jeff Banks, Vanessa Denza and John Walford were invited to the stage to accept a special Lifetime Achievement Award. They thanked the organisers as well as praising all the students who took part, noting that over 10,000 students had showed their collections at Graduate Fashion Week in the 25 years it’s been running.

As the evening drew to a close, Burberry’s creative director and CEO took to the stage to present this year’s Gold Award Presented by Oracle. He commended the months of hard work that all the students had put into their collections. Notably buzzing with excitement he announced Hazel Symons from De Montfort University as the winner of the Gold Award. As she tearfully accepted her award and walked the catwalk with pride alongside her collection, Graduate Fashion Week ended and the class of 2016 blossomed from hard working fashion students into talented young designers. 

See the full list of winners from the Graduate Fashion Week Awards show below. 

Gold Award Presented By Oracle - Hazel Symons (De Montfort)

M&S Womenswear Award - Quivvei Jiang (UCA Epsom)

Debenhams Menswear Award - Caoimhe Savage (Kingston University)

GFW 25th Anniversary TU Scholarship Award - Genevive Devine (Northumbria University) 

Matalan Visionary Knitwear Award- Kendall Baker (Nottingham Trent) 

George Catwalk To Store Award - George Hollins (Arts University Bournemouth)

N Brown Textile Award - Chloe Jackson (Nottingham Trent) 

ICG Accessories Award - Lorn Jean (Edinburgh College Of Art) 

David Band Textiles Award - Alice Potts (Norwich University Of The Arts)

Drapers Fashion Publication Award - Emily Reid (Arts University Bournemouth)

New Media Award- Vanessa Cuffy (UCA Epsom)

Very Styling & Creative Direction Award - Mia Edie Roberts (University Of Central Lancashire) 

Marketing Award- Nuala Convery (Northumbria University) 

Barclays New Business Award - Danielle Reynolds (University Of Brighton) 

Vivienne Westwood Ethical Award- Fiona Cartmel (Edinburgh College Of Art)

Oracle Fashion Technology Award- Alex Hughes (Northbrook College Sussex)

Stand Award - Sheffield Hallam University 

Little Black Dress Fashion Photography Award - Erika Bowes (Northumbria University)

Boux Avenue Lingerie & Swimwear Award - Betsan Evans(De Montfort)

Karen Millen Portfolio Award - Emily Bunch (University Of Leeds) 

Mothercare Childrenswear Award - Sinead Blagbrough (University Of Salford) 

Sophie Hallette University Design Challenge - Anum Rasul (Salford Manchester)

The Oracle International Catwalk Competition - Amesh Wijesekera (Academy Of Design, Sri Lanka) 

Lipsy Red Carpet Dress Award- Antonia Nae (University Of East London) Fashion Innovation Award - Lorn Jean (Edinburgh College Of Art)